“Rustic Spinach , Dill Feta , Havati cheese Bread”

image

In the beginning I would get scared with the idea of working with yeast and thinking of baking a bread would scare me . I still remember my first home baked bread and how hard like it came out . My elder brother would make fun of my bread and said we should start selling bricks as he said those breads were as hard as bricks . But I got over with the fear of bread making and realized that if you have get the basic of proofing the yeast then you can bake a perfect bread a home .

This bread was more of an experiment and it sure did not disappoint me πŸ™‚ bringing this bread to Angie’s Fiesta Friday to share with all … As well as my second entry for Fiesta Friday Challenge #1

For the Bread we will be needing :

1 box (10 oz) chopped frozen spinach, thawed and drained
1/2 cup fresh Dill ( chopped along with tender stems )
1 cups lukewarm water ( more if needed )
2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
1/2 cup crumbled Havati cheese OR Goat cheese
OR
1 cup cheese of your choice
2 1/4 teaspoons sugar
3 1/4 cups all purpose flour ( I used whole wheat bread flour )

Instructions :

Mix the yeast, salt, spinach, dill & cheese and sugar with the water in a large bowl or a stand mixer. Mix in the flour either using a spoon if by hand or the stand mixer with dough attachment. Cover and allow to rest at room temperature until the dough rises and collapses, approximately 2 hours.
At this point you can either use the dough, or store in the fridge for later use (up to 7 days).
When ready to use, divide the dough in half and transfer to a liberally floured surface. Shape each half of dough into a ball by tucking each side under itself. Allow to rest and rise on the floured surface for 1 hour.
Preheat oven to 450 degrees with a baking stone placed on the middle rack. Place an empty boiler tray on any other shelf that won’t interfere with the rising bread.
Sprinkle the loaf liberally with flour and slash a cross or tic-tac-toe pattern into the top, using a serrated bread knife. Leave the flour in place for baking; tap some of it off before eating.
Slide the loaf directly onto the hot stone. Pour 1 cup of hot tap water into the broiler tray, and quickly close the oven door. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until deeply browned and firm. Smaller or larger loaves will require adjustments in baking time.

imageimageimageimageimage image
36 comments

    1. Julianna go for it . This bread is simple and so versatile . Loved it especially with olive oil dip . I think this bread will go well with soups and stews too πŸ™‚

  1. I remember when I was a kid and baked cookies for the first time and they were hard as rocks. My mom and I laughed about it. It is funny to recall the memories of your first experiences in baking/cooking. When I made good cookies for the first time, I smile when I remember those hard-as-rocks cookies. πŸ˜€

    I wish I could look back someday when I am good in baking bread and laugh about my yeast experiences. This bread looks so gorgeous and makes me want to come over at your place and ask you to ‘tutor’ me on bread-making. πŸ˜€

    This is a great submission for FFC#1 and for FF. πŸ™‚
    Hope you have a pleasant weekend! ❀

    1. Jhuls this artisan bread recipe is a super duper hit and so very easy to prepare . Give it a try if you can . You too have a nice weekend πŸ™‚

      1. I will put this on my list. Once me and the yeast are best of friends, I will try every bread I can see. πŸ˜€

  2. Oh, those early days! Actually, I still have those days sometimes, many times. πŸ™‚ Your loaves look like those fancy artisan bread that everybody raves about these days. Awesome, Shelly!

  3. Wow, Shelly! I love all those flecks of green from the spinach and dill in this bread, and the bread looks super moist from the cheeses. What a beautiful loaf you’ve made. Well done!

    1. Ngan , it was my first try making this artisan bread and loved the crusty exterior of the bread . It tasted good even toasted with butter πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks Shailja. This was a great recipe and simple to make. Only I would like to try one big loaf instead of two smaller when dough is separated. What would be the cooking temp and time for this ? Thanks Kim

Leave a Reply

